2012 Martian Half Marathon Race Review

It is hard to believe that I ran my second half marathon this past Saturday! On Friday, I took the train home from Chicago and I arrived around 11:45 PM. Good think I didn’t have to get up that early for the race. So I was able to sleep until 5 AM.

My cousin Kristin picked me up at 6 and her friend Holly followed us to the race. Holly was running her first 5k ever! It took us about 1 hour to get to Dearborn, but it took awhile to park because the traffic got a little backed up. After we parked we rushed to get Holly her race bib & shirt. She only had 15 minutes from getting out of the car to the race start! I was so happy she made it with extra time to spare!

We weren’t able to get our race packets at the expo on Friday, so I am not sure if it was great or not. They did send the race bag virtually which was nice because it was eco-friendly! So after Holly got to the race start, we got our shirts and bibs and went to the bathrooms. Everything went really smoothly. I am glad for that.

After going the bathroom for the second time, we lined up. Good thing we went to the bathroom because there were not bathrooms along the route. I later realized that there were bathrooms in the park along the course, but if you didn’t know that you would have just kept going.

This was definitely a small race. It was actually nice and it wasn’t overwhelming like some of the bigger races. However, there was not many spectators along the course. I wasn’t a fan of this at all, but what can you do?

The weather called for rain and even thunderstorms for Saturday. The temperature ended up being in the mid-50s and the ran held up until the last couple of miles. I like running in the type of weather.

I knew that this course was going to have some hills, but I had no idea that there would be so many rolling hills because the course description said the course was relatively flat with some rolling hills. I should have known better. Next time I would need to prepare for more hills because I haven’t ran any rolling hills here in Chicago!

With the hills, I knew that It would slow me down. I was okay with this. I ran the first few miles with Kristin, but then she became too fast for me to keep up with her. I was so happy for her because it was her first half marathon!

Overall the race was great! The course was a nice out and back route, but I couldn’t imagine running the full marathon on this course. It was just be way too boring for me!

I would run this half again. Next time, I would train for hills, even if the course just has slightly rolling hills!

I had such a great time at the race. I liked the shirt. I honestly thought that it was going to be worse. I really loved the medal!

Time: 2:20:46

Pace: 10:44

AG Place: 54/71

Overall Place: 1320/1795

4 thoughts on “2012 Martian Half Marathon Race Review

  1. Great race! The shirt and medal are so cool!

    I ran a race in WI last April that they said was flat. Well, it was not, when you compare it to Chicago! Hills are rare out here! Although, I do have a few hilly places by me 🙂

    • You are very lucky to have some hilly places near you! Where I am from in Michigan there are tons of hills! I kind of miss it!

Leave a Reply

