Cinco de Miler

I knew that I wanted to run the Cinco de Miler run when I first heard that there was going to be a Cinco de Mayo themed race here in Chicago. Last year was the first annual Cinco de Miler, which I was unable to do because I was still in Michigan. So, this year I made sure to register! Now, I am not that much into the “holiday” but I loved the idea of Mariachi bands playing and other Mexican music from live bands, Mexican food and beer at the finish, and the shirt was pretty awesome too! My boyfriend, Hector also really like the idea of the race. He is from Mexico, but doesn’t really understand why Cinco de Mayo is so popular here.

The race didn’t start until 9:30 which I actually liked. I didn’t have to rush this morning! I had some coffee and oatmeal then headed to Montrose Harbor a little after 8. It was only about a 3 mile bike ride from the apartment to the race. We arrived and parked our bikes. Went to the bathroom and got ready to start! I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel during the race because yesterday I went out for a short run and I felt awful! My stomach was really upset and I just wanted to throw up!

The race started right on time. The first mile was pretty good and the Mariachi band was a great touch! I just really wished that they were are the last part of the race. I really could have used it! After mile 1.5, my stomach really started too hurt. I was really afraid that this was going to happen. At this point I really just wanted to finish. I just felt more sick and felt that I could throw up at any time. No worries though, I didn’t puke!

There were many parts where I wanted to stop and walk. I knew that if I did, I would would have been so mad at myself! So, I just pushed on! I am glad that I did!

I thought that the course was going to be be a lot more congested that it was durning the race. There were only a couple of spots were it got tight. Also, there were some mud and potholes in some spots, but I wasn’t worried about that! I was happy when I knew that I was close to the finish line! It was a great feeling to know that I had done the best that I could do.

I am really pleased wit my overall results! I really wanted my pace to be under 10 minutes, and it was!! Yay!! 🙂

After we finished we grabbed some water and headed to the post-race party. Since I am vegan there wasn’t really any food to eat. I knew that there wouldn’t be and I am okay with it. The food that they had included churros, which looked really good, burritos, chips and salsa. I did get a beer though! It was really refreshing.

The post-race party was really fun. It seemed like the weather got a lot colder sitting there and the bugs were really bad! The race overall was great! RAM racing did a great job at organizing this race! The volunteers were amazing! Thank you to everyone who came out and supported the race! You are amazing! They even gave out their somberos!

One bad thing that did happen was that I got a flat tire on my bike, so we had to walk it all the way back! We made it just in time before it started to rain!

I would definitely do this race again! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Cinco de Miler

Leave a Reply

