What did I get myself into?!

I am really starting to freak out about my half marathon that is now less than 3 weeks away! I do not feel that I have been training like I should have. These past couple of weeks I have been trying to increase my milage, but today I just couldn’t get through my run! My body doesn’t handle the heat very well. Honestly, I don’t sweat. I am trying to figure out what will make me sweat more because my body just can’t process the heat!

I only was able to run 2 miles in the heat. I was frustrated with myself, but I knew that my body couldn’t handle any more. Tomorrow I will get back out there and try again. I have to adapt to running in the heat. There is no way that I will be able to train & even run the Chicago Marathon in October if I don’t learn to deal with the heat! This is my new goal for the summer: be able to run in the heat without getting sick!

Going back to Dexter-Ann Arbor Half on June 3rd, I am really nervous for it. This is my biggest concern aside from the heat:

The course is described as: “Hilly and fairly challenging — though not overly so — the race is run on paved surfaces throughout the entire course, and features its only real flat stretches of any length for two miles during the entire race.” 

Will I be ready for the race? I don’t know, but I do know that I will try because I signed up for this race. I just need to push myself and believe that I can do it! Sorry if I sound like I am complaining too much, I am just worried!

The goal for this week is to try & complete every run on my training schedule, especially the longer runs! I think that I can do that!

Good night!

Leave a Reply

