Dexter-Ann Arbor Half Marathon Race Recap

Sunday I ran the Dexter-Ann Arbor Half Marathon and overall the race was ok. I knew that I wasn’t going to PR this race. I honestly just wanted to finish! Throughout the race, I had a lot of emotions going through my head.

I ran the half with my cousin Kristin, which was a lot of fun. It really is better to go to races with someone. Her friend Holly ran the 10K, her first ever!!! We left around 4:30. The race didn’t not start until 8:30, but we had to make sure that we had enough time to pick up our packets. It only took us a little less than hour and a half to get to Ann Arbor. I was happy we found the right parking structure right away! We picked up our bibs, went the bathroom, and got our stuff together. Kristin & I headed to the school buses, which then took us to Dexter, the start of the race. The 10k start was in Ann Arbor, so Holly didn’t have to take the bus with us!

Me & Kristin After Getting Our Bibs

Kristin & Holly Ready To Run!

We arrived to Dexter & waited at a school for about 1 1/2 hours. The waiting really made me more nervous! It was a bit chilly outside, but by the time the race was going to start, it got really warm & sunny out!

Waiting for the race to start!

The race started right on time & I felt good until about mile 6. It was getter warmer and I worried that I wouldn’t finish. After mile 10, I had to go to the bathroom. It didn’t bother me to stop, which in any other race would have. I did have to walk a little bit in mile 11 & 12. I wasn’t happy that I needed to walk, but my body couldn’t be pushed anymore.

I really just wanted to finish without injuring my body. I finished. My time was not so good, but I wasn’t racing this for a PR. The course was a challenge. It was hilly and really beautiful.

Overall, the race was really organized. I was happy that the had lots of water & gatorade every mile to mile and a half. The volunteers were wonderful & I greatly appreciate the spectators that came out to cheer the runners on!

I am proud to say the I finished my 3rd half marathon!

My time was 2:29. Not the best, but I am proud to be a finisher!

Kristin & Holly both ran strong races!

After the race, we went to Seva, a vegetarian restaurant. It felt so good just to sit down! We had a great lunch with lots of yummy food!

It was a great day! I am looking forward to improving my time at my next race!

One thought on “Dexter-Ann Arbor Half Marathon Race Recap

  1. Great job! I’m doing a half this weekend and my goal isn’t to PR, I just want to have fun! Sometimes that’s enough 🙂 Also, I love that you wore your shirts and medals to lunch!

Leave a Reply

