Week 1: Failed

I hope that everyone had a great weekend! 🙂

Last week was suppose to by my first week of marathon training. Let’s just say that it did not go so well. On Wednesday I finally came back to Chicago after my long month stay in Michigan! My mom also came back with me & left on Saturday. It was really nice and I got to spend some quality time with her! On Thursday, I attempted my first run of the week and this happens:

I must have tripped over an uneven surface along the path. I was running along the lakefront and was almost to North Ave beach when I took a tumble. It was so embarrassing because it was so crowded! I got back up and went to the bathroom to clean some of the blood. I was only 2 miles into my run when this happened. I wasn’t about to walk the 2 miles back with blood dripping down my leg. So I ran back.

It still hurts. My knee hurts when I get up from sitting down. Also, my right ankle has been hurting and has a little bruise. I have been resting & icing. But I just want to run!! I am going to attempt to run today, but I don’t know how that will go. I hope that it is healed because I want to start training for the Chicago Marathon! Also, I am running the Chicago Women’s Half on the 24th, so I need to get in another longer training run!

Leave a Reply

