CRIM Festival of Races Expo

The CRIM Festival of Races takes place the last weekend of August in downtown Flint, Michigan. This year is the 36th year for the race and is one of the most popular races in Michigan; at least this is what I heard, I will let you know if this is true after Saturday! There is a race for everybody {walkers included!}: 1 mile, 5k, 8k and 10 miles. The 10 mile race is the 4th largest in the country and from what I have been reading, they want to make it even bigger!

I have wanted to do the CRIM for the past couple of years, but never had the opportunity to run it. Since I was going to be back in Michigan in late August, I just had to register! I will be running it with my cousin Kristin & the bf Hector!

The expo is taking place today & tomorrow at the Riverfront Conference Center in Flint. If you were thinking about registering, there is still time to sign up at the expo! I have plans tomorrow, so I headed to the expo today!

The expo was about a 40 minute drive and was very easy to find. When Hector & I walked into expo, we were a little confused. We assumed that the packet picked up would be in the front, right as you entered. We were wrong. You had to go through the vendors first and the packets were in the back. I don’t think this was set up very well because you have a lot of people coming in and out at the same time. Going against traffic is never fun.

Besides the layout, the expo was great for a 10 mile race! There was a great selection of things to buy from the vendors. I didn’t buy anything, which was extremely hard because there were so many good deals! Hector did get a really good deal on some running shorts & a shirt.

I can’t wait for Saturday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

