Chicago Half Marathon Recap

Sunday, I ran my 5th half marathon of the year!! I still can’t believe it. Everything that probably could go wrong Sunday morning  did.  I had set my alarm for 4 AM and somehow missed it. I am one deep sleeper and apparently Hector did not hear it either. So at 5:22 AM I woke up in a panic. We had decided previously that we were going to ride our bikes to the race.  MISTAKE! The starting location of the race was 13 miles south of our apartment. I am so glad that I got everything ready for the race the night before. We quickly grabbed all of our things and rushed out the door. I pedaled as fast as I could. I hate being rushed.

Finally at 6:40, we arrived to the Museum of Science and Industry. We then had to find the bike parking lot. We got to our corral 2 minutes before the race started. Seriously going from the bike to running was an experience. My legs were like jello. My body went into shock. Hector and I both had to go to the bathroom  which probably added 6 minutes to our time, but at that point it didn’t really matter.

I wanted to quit so badly. I didn’t think my body was going to make it. At mile 3 it felt like I had ran 10 miles already. I knew that I needed to push myself to finish. Finally around mile 7, I felt like I had a groove going. I knew that if I made it to the turnaround point, I would be able to finish.

I was so happy to be done! I wonder if my time would have been faster without biking it there, probably. But this was an experience. Maybe if I can get over my fears of swimming in open waters, I can do a triathlon. Maybe. The worse part was the we had to ride back in  strong winds. That was tough.

Overall, I loved the race. Running on Lake Shore Drive was amazing. The crowd support was awesome. The weather was PERFECT.

 

 

Once we got back to the apartment and showered we went to the Chicago Diner for our post-race meal. It was so good!

I ordered the radical ruben with sweet potato fries. Yum!

He seems too exhausted to even eat!

Finally, I get to have my vegan shake! 😉

After the race, I have been doing a lot of thinking about the Chicago Marathon. I will do another post soon, but I am deciding whether or not to run it. I am really undertrained due to an injury from June/July. More on that later.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

