Book Club & Empanada Making

Last Sunday, I went to my first book club with the Chicago Healthy Living Bloggers. This  months book was MFW: Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend by Rachel Bertsche. I really enjoyed reading the book. I learned a lot of valuable tips about making friends. I could really use the information and tips because since I moved to Chicago last May, I haven’t been able to make that many friends.

It was also great to meet other bloggers living here in Chicago. It was so much fun! I can’t wait for this month’s book club!

Photo from of Kelsey! Thanks for taking the pictures! 🙂
We each brought a dish and I wanted to make empanadas. I also wanted to make something that was both vegan & gluten free. When I read the recipe of Pumpkin and Potato Empanadas from Viva Vegan, I knew that I had to make them! Instead of a flour based dough, it called for Columbian/Venezuelan masa harina, which is just corn flour. Masa harina can be found in latin grocery stores. In Chicago I was able to find it at a market in Edgewater (I can’t remember the name, but it is on Devon). Back home in Michigan, I found it at a Mexican grocery store in Pontiac. The best part was that the dough didn’t need any shortening, which made the dough so much easier to roll and shape. I also used butternut squash instead of pumpkin.
In the book, there are set by step instructions on how to roll, shape, and fill the empanadas. This was extremely helpful!
Following the shaping instructions was very helpful! They turned out great and I think that everyone enjoyed them! I served them with the green onion salsa from Viva Vegan. If you don’t have Viva Vegan, I highly recommend that you get it. It is a wonderful cookbook and I have made a lot of the recipes and they all were very good!!
4 thoughts on “Book Club & Empanada Making

  1. I agree those empanadas were INCREDIBLE. I think most of us at the book-club served ourselves seconds! It’s definitely hard making friends in a new city (it took me a while too), but you are doing all the right things. Afterall, the author made a ton of friends at book-clubs too!

Leave a Reply

