Spectating the Chicago Marathon

Last Sunday was bittersweet for me. I had the pleasure of cheering on Hector & Kristin, along with all the other runners, during the Chicago Marathon. I really wish that I could have been out there running with them, but my previous injury prevented that from happening. It was hard not to be a little jealous/envious. But I was so happy for them!!

We woke up at 5 AM on Sunday. Hector & Kristin had breakfast & than got ready for the race!! I think that I was more excited for the race than they where!

They left around 6 and than I got myself ready to spectate. I really should have had a better game plan because my plan didn’t go as well as it could have. I started off by being at mile 6.5 ish {Sheridan & Wellington} which was just short walk to my apartment. I got out there around 7:40 and it was cold!!! I could barely feel my toes. Kristin & Hector didn’t pass by until around 9:30 and they looked amazing!

After they passed I went to Broadway & Wellington to see them again!

I headed back to the apartment to grab a few things and headed to the halfway point. Well, I missed them. So I had to refigure out my plan. I took the red line to Chinatown. BIG MISTAKE!! It was so crowded. People were shoving and pushing there way to get a spot to see. I have anxiety in large crowds and had to leave. I wouldn’t have been able to see anyways. I decided just to go the finish line because I didn’t want to miss them again. Next time, I would go to mile 16-18 and than around 23. I think that this would have worked out much better.

I tried to look out for all the bloggers running, but didn’t see anyone! I think there was just too many runners to try and spot someone within the crowd.

They finished!!! I am so proud of them!! They pushed themselves and ran their first marathon! I couldn’t have been any happier for them. They were amazing!!

Watching the marathon has inspired me to push threw my training for the Walt Disney World Marathon this January! I can’t wait to call myself a marathoner. It will happen this January. I can guarantee that it will!!

7 thoughts on “Spectating the Chicago Marathon

  1. Sorry you couldn’t run this year, but taking the time to rest and let your body heal just means your first marathon at Disney will be great!

    I volunteered and spectated last year and had a great time – it is so inspiring to see all the runners! The cheers from the crowd are appreciated when running! 🙂

  2. Disney in January will be amazing! That’s so great that you were able to support your fiance and roommate during the race. I used to watch the race on Sheridan & Broadway too – definitely the best place to catch it!

Leave a Reply

