Quesadilla La Reyna del Sur

Yesterday was not only the first day of November, it was also Happy World Vegan Day! To celebrate, Hector and I went to Quesidilla La Reyna Del Sur for lunch. We have been wanting to try this restaurant for months, but we have always wanted to go on a Saturday and they are not open on Saturdays. I was excited that we were finally going to try it!

It is located in the Bucktown/Logan Square neighborhood. We drove and we were able to park right in front! I hate having to worry about parking.

We sat down and we were brought chips and salsa right away.  The menu had a good selection of tacos, tortas, and quesadillas. There was also a great selection of fresh juices. I was tempted to get one, but I decided not to. I did notice that there was a lot of soy items on the menu.

Hector ordered two barbacoa tacos. Apparently the flavor is suppose to be like lamb. Hector enjoyed them, however, there wasn’t much salt. I think that is a good think though.

 I went with the xochimilco taco. It had soy steak, mushrooms and cactus. I think I went with the xochimilco taco because it reminded me of the time I went there when I was in Mexico. {If you are ever in Mexico, I highly recommend that you go!}

We also ordered two tamales. Now, we wanted normal tamales that were not in the banana leaves. Well, we were brought tamales that had been steamed in to banana leaves. I opted not to eat mine. I love tamales, but these just didn’t appeal to me. Hector ate them, but said that they needed more flavor.

Overall it was a pretty good lunch. Next time I wouldn’t get the tamales, but something else. It is worth going back to.  I really like that there are so many vegetarian options here in Chicago.

Do you have a favorite vegeatarian/vegan restaurant in Chicago?

4 thoughts on “Quesadilla La Reyna del Sur

  1. I’ve only been there once before and am eager to go back and try more. Definitely get a juice or smoothie next time you go! We really liked the drink we got – it had cactus in it so the flavor was very light and it was so refreshing, but then again it was 90 degrees outside then, so it was perfect for a hot day.

Leave a Reply

