Turkey-Less Roast {Holiday Eats}

Earlier this week while I was at Trader Joes, I spotted a vegan turkey roast. It was located in the refrigerated section by the real turkeys and veggies. It was $9.99 and I normally wouldn’t spend that much on one item, but I really wanted to try it. They always get me with new vegan products. I just want to try every vegan product that I see!!

I knew that I wanted to try this roast well before Thanksgiving. Since Thanksgiving is only two weeks away, it is time to figure out what to make! So, last night I tried it for dinner. On the side of the box there is directions for a holiday roast. Basically you cut up some veggies coat with olive oil and salt & pepper. Place the roast on top and bake in the oven. Simple. Anyone can make this.

One hour later the roast was done. It came with gravy and you just heat the up on the stove.

Overall, I thought that the roast was pretty good. It was simple and easy to make. I normally do not eat processed “meats” like this, but every once in awhile it is a nice treat. It kind of tasted like Gardein, but not sure if it is. I would definitely recommend this, especially if you like to eat Gardein, Tofurky, etc. I eat them only a couple times a year, so this really was a treat. Hector said that he could eat it everyday. I am not sure if I will be having this for my Thanksgiving dinner, but it is a good backup option for me.

It would be great if you had vegetarian/vegan guests coming to your Thanksgiving and have no idea what to make. Just put it in the oven and your done! Your vegan guests would greatly appreciate the effort!

Have you tried a vegetarian roast before? Do you have a favorite roast?

4 thoughts on “Turkey-Less Roast {Holiday Eats}

  1. I’ve used the Tofurkey roast in the past and really loved the flavor plus it’s dense and chewy. This year we are trying something different – the Field Roast “Celebration Roast” with Hazelnuts, Cranberries, and a Pastry Crust.

    Though one of these days I’ll try making my own entree! I’ve seen several recipes online for “Tofu Turkeys” and a few great “Lentil Loafs”.

    • I have been wanting to try the Field Roast “Celebration Roast” for awhile. It looks so good! I had a Tofurkey probably 5 years ago and I didn’t like it at all.

      I have made some lentil loafs and I love them!! Really anything in a loaf form is good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

