Detroit Turkey Trot 5k Recap

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I had a pretty low key one but my highlight was running a turkey trot.

I have been looking forward to the Detroit Turkey Trot for months. I had so much fun last year & figured this year would be the same. One of my favorite things about this race is that it really is a fun run. You see lots of families running together and I love that. This year there was a lot of chaos.

I left my house at 4:30 and was meeting Hector at his house who was driving. I wanted to make sure that we had enough time to park and get our bibs & shirts without having to rush. We parked by Joe Louis around 6 AM. We beat the traffic! We walked to Cobo Hall got our stuff without any problems.

After getting settled I tried to find a bathroom. The line for one was too long, but I was able to walk to the other side and there was no line! We headed over to the start line and then all chaos started. Our wave was suppose to start at 7:45 and the other side had another wave that was suppose to start at 8:00.

We started off good, but when the two waves meet we all came to a stop. There was a gridlock of runners. You couldn’t move. After we got moving again there was another traffic jam at the turn around point. There was a lot of dogging runners and walkers throughout the whole race.

I had planned on running the 10k, but Hector was just doing the 5k and I really wanted to run and finish with him. I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to pr the 10k, so I changed to the 5k just to finish with him! It was about having fun.

After mile 2 Hector and I really pushed it! We thought that we might be able to get a decent time. This was until we reached the finish line where there was a block of people. We were not able to run across the finish line. Instead we had to wait and slowly crossed the finish line.

After crossing the finish we couldn’t move. They were handing out the medals but I think this was the cause of the backup at the finish. I was just happy to get a medal because they ran out!

I didn’t wear my garmin and I should have so I have a more accurate account especially since I had to stop and wait before crossing that finish line. My official time was 34:51. I haven’t ran a 5k in almost 3 years and really would’ve like to have a more accurate time, but I do plan on running a 5k on New Year’s Day.

With a record of 23,000 runners the Detroit Turkey Trot became the largest in the country. I think next year having a better corral system and breaking up the runners by paces will help eliminate the congestion issues. I also think that it is important to remember that for a lot of people this race is purely for fun and not setting PRs. Overall it was a fun race and I would run it again, but from reading the comments on their facebook page, I don’t think some people will be back.

Did you run a Thanksgiving Day race?

7 thoughts on “Detroit Turkey Trot 5k Recap

  1. I’m glad you had a good race! I agree about all of the problems with the race though- they really need to change the finish line area and better organize the start. Maybe sending groups of runners off every 2 minutes or so like they do at races in Chicago?

Leave a Reply

