Some Good & Bad News

Hey everyone! I have some good and not so good news to share with you!

Let’s start with the good. I have been wanting to start a food/travel blog for a few years. I finally bought my own domain name: thymeandlove.com. It is still a work in progress, but I am really excited to share it with you! This is my passion in life and I am looking forward to pursing it! I will mostly be posting here from now on!

Some bad news is about my running. I haven’t been running a lot for one big reason: my hip hurts really bad. It has hurt since June, but the pain comes and goes. I was born with hip dysplasia¬†and was treated with triple diapers. {Apparently I was really cranky with all those diapers!} I haven’t had any pain since I was a baby until last year when I really starting upping my running milage. I finally went to go see an orthopedic yesterday and he basically told me that I shouldn’t be running if it is painful, which right now it is. I also have raw cartilage on my knee and will never get any cartilage back. {Scary!} I do have a shallow hip socket, which is the dysplasia. I can do an MRI and see if I have a fracture. I just don’t like the idea of a needle going into my hip bone. So I am not sure if I will get that done just yet.

He said that I can’t do any weight baring activities like squats, lunges, etc. The best thing for me to do is pool jogging and the elliptical. I need to build my strength back up and then start running and see how I feel. I also should only ride my bike in moderation. I guess that I will have to join a gym! I just need to focus on being healthy right now and not worrying about complete any races.

What does this all mean? I am going to build my strength back up and them try running a low amount of miles later on this year. I am taking action now because I don’t want to really injury my hips later on in life and have to get a hip replacement. I am suppose to be running the Disney Marathon Sunday. Well, I know that I can’t finish it. Being a marathon runner just isn’t meant to be, at least for the time being. I might start that race, but I don’t know yet. I really wanted to do this race, but it just isn’t meant to be. I am trying not to think too much about it right now. {Tears were shed last night.}

This is really frustrating, but I am trying to be grateful for what I do have and that I can walk and overall my legs are not in that bad of shape.

I will still post here and update you on anything running/exercise related. I will mostly be posting over at thymeandlove.com.

For those that live in Chicago, do have any inexpensive gym recommendations? Have you had an MRI before & how was it?

 

2 thoughts on “Some Good & Bad News

  1. So sorry to hear about this Jeni! Ultimately you have to do what is best for you and your body– don’t worry about what anyone else will think.

    As far as MRI’s go, I’ve had a few and they’re not scary at all… especially not for a leg. Most likely they’ll just put your lower body in the machine so you won’t have to go in entirely and even if you do it isn’t too bad- I promise!

    I belong to Xsport in the South Loop (but there are multiple locations) and it’s $35/month and has a pool and rock climbing wall. It’s not the nicest gym out there but it’s much cheaper than other gyms in the area!

  2. Awe girl I’m SO sorry to hear this. Even if you can’t run the marathon, enjoy your time in Disney, you deserve some fun!

Leave a Reply

